Final Review Critics: (L to R) Sergio Pineiro Lopez, Nina-Marie Lister, Bradley Cantrell (Thesis Advisor), Sean Burkholder, and Dilip Da Cunha [and Maggie Janik, Harvard GSD videographer] - Defense photography, courtesy of Robert Tangstrom

Thursday, May 12th; 12 PM EST

Leif's thesis defense was held at Harvard University's Graduate School of Design,  and was broadcasted live through Periscope.  Video recording, courtesy of Harvard Graduate School of Design. Below is a 4-part recording of the defense.


Review Committee:

Julie Bargmann - Founding Principal, D.I.R.T. studio Chair and Associate Professor, Department of Landscape Architecture, University of Virginia

Sean Burkholder - Assistant Professor of Landscape and Urban Design at the University at Buffalo

Marshall Brown - Architect and Urban Designer at Marshall Brown Projects

Caroline Constant - Visiting Professor Emerita in Landscape Architecture, Professor Emerita of Architecture at the University of Michigan, Fellow of the American Academy in Rome, and Honorary Member of the Royal Institute of the Architects of Ireland

Dilip Da Cunha - Architect and Planner. Adjunct Professor at the School of Design, University of Pennsylvania

Kristin Frederickson - Senior Associate at Reed Hilderbrand

Nina-Marie Lister - Associate Professor of Urban Planning at Ryerson University, and Visiting Professor of Landscape Architecture at the University of Toronto

Linda Pollak - Founding Partner of Marpillero Pollak Architects

David Rubin - Principal at Land Collective, 2011-2012 recipient of the Rome Prize in Landscape Architecture

Jane Wolff - Associate Professor, Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design at the University of Toronto

GSD Faculty Critics - Bradley Cantrell (Advisor, MLA Program Director), Gareth Doherty (Thesis Director), Rosetta Elkin (Thesis Prep Professor), Anita Berrizbeitia (MLA Program Chair), Sergio Pineiro Lopez, Gary Hilderbrand, Chris Reed, Peter Del Tredici, Niall Kirkwood

Also in attendance  

Neil Brenner - Professor of Urban Theory, Co-Coordinator of the MDes-ULE Concentration

Nataly Gategno - Chair of CCA-Architecture MArch and MAAD Programs, Partner of Future Cities Lab

Jason Kelly Johnson - Associate Professor of Architecture, CCA-Architecture, Partner of Future Cities Lab

Previous: Proposal  |  Next: Glossary